City Council


The regular Council meeting is devoted to taking formal action on ordinances, resolutions and board or commission recommendations pending before the council. All citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in these meetings.

  • 7pm
  • First and third Monday of each month (except for holidays)
  • Council Chambers in City Hall

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

About the Council

The work of the City Council is shared by five primary committees: Community Development (meets 1st Mondays); Government Operations and Oversight (meets 1st Mondays); Finance and Purchasing (meets 3rd Mondays); Public Works and Infrastructure (meets 3rd Mondays); and Code Revisions, Appeals and Negotiations (meets when called.) 

  • The Community Development Committee handles planning and zoning recommendations; RDAs, TIFs, economic development, property acquisition, CDBG, liquor & gaming licenses, parking, and special events.
  • The Government Operations & Oversight Committee handles insurance benefits, claims & settlements; IGAs; and personnel matters.
  • The Finance & Purchasing Committee handles procurement, contracts, tax levies, GO & revenue bonds, fees, finance department matters, and treasurer's report.
  • The Public Works & Infrastructure Committee handles sewer/water service, stormwater, capital improvement, environmental, garbage services, and fleet.
  • The Code Revisions, Appeals & Negotiations Committee handles major code revisions, appeals, and union negotiations.

Opportunities are provided for informal visits with the Council through ward meetings scheduled by the council members. The Mayor communicates with residents through community briefings, newspaper articles, radio talk shows, and presentations before community organizations.

Committee Assignments

Community Development

  • Greg Moisio, Chair
  • Patrick Seger, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Lynn Florian
  • Dr. Roudell Kirkwood
  • Keith Turner

Government Operations & Oversight

  • Dr. Sylvia Sims Bolton, Chair
  • Ann Taylor, Vice Chair
  • Edith Newsome
  • Felix Rivera
  • Keith Turner

Finance & Purchasing

  • Edith Newsome, Chair
  • Greg Moisio, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Roudell Kirkwood
  • Felix Rivera
  • Patrick Seger

Public Works & Infrastructure

  • Patrick Seger, Chair
  • Edith Newsome, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Sylvia Sims Bolton
  • Ann Taylor
  • Keith Turner

Code Revisions, Appeals & Negotiations

  • Mayor Sam Cunningham, Chair
  • Dr. Sylvia Sims Bolton, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Lynn Florian
  • Dr. Roudell Kirkwood
  • Greg Moisio