City Council


  • 7 p.m.
  • First and third Mondays each month (except holidays)
  • Waukegan City Hall
    100 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue
    Waukegan, IL 60085

The regular meeting of the City Council follows the scheduled Committee Meetings at 7 p.m. The regular council meeting is devoted to taking formal action on ordinances, resolutions and board or commission recommendations pending before the council. All citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in these meetings.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. The entire City Council meeting is available on the City's YouTube Channel.


  • Ann B. Taylor, Mayor
  • Janet Kilkelly, City Clerk
  • Dr. John R. Schwab, Treasurer

Hierarchy of Responsibilities

The work of the City Council is shared by five committees: Community Development; Government Operations & Oversight; Finance & Purchasing; Public Works & Infrastructure; and Code Revisions, Appeals & Negotiations.

  • The Community Development Committee handles planning and zoning recommendations; RDAs, TIFs, economic development, property acquisition, CDBG, liquor & gaming licenses, parking, and special events.
  • The Government Operations & Oversight Committee handles insurance benefits, claims & settlements; IGAs; and personnel matters.
  • The Finance & Purchasing Committee handles procurement, contracts, tax levies, GO & revenue bonds, fees, finance department matters, and treasurer's report.
  • The Public Works & Infrastructure Committee handles sewer/water service, stormwater, capital improvement, environmental, garbage services, and fleet.
  • The Insurance Committee is responsible for issues related to the city's insurance coverage.
  • The Code Revisions, Appeals & Negotiations Committee handles major code revisions, appeals, and union negotiations.

Opportunities are provided for informal visits with council members through Ward meetings scheduled by the council members. The Mayor communicates with residents through community briefings, newspaper articles, radio talk shows, and presentations before community organizations.

The Structure of Your Local Government

Incorporated in 1859, the City of Waukegan is a political subdivision of the State of Illinois, located in the County of Lake along the state's northeast boundaries. Waukegan is approximately 24 square miles in area and has a current population of 89,877, making it the ninth largest city in the state. The city operates under a Mayor-aldermanic form of government, with a mayor and nine aldermen representing nine wards and serving as the city council.

Administration of city government is headed by the mayor who is elected on at-large basis for a four-year term. Although the mayor and aldermen all serve for four years, their elections are held two years apart, making it possible for the city to maintain a realistic separation of duties and constituencies. With the consent of the council, the mayor appoints the various department heads. As head of the local governmental unit, the mayor serves as the chief administrative and executive officer of the city. In this capacity the mayor is responsible for administering the policies enacted by the council, for making recommendations to the city council on matters of legislation, finances, capital improvements, and programs and policies as applicable.

Geographic segments of Waukegan fall within one of six separate townships: Waukegan, Warren, Benton, Libertyville, Shields, and Newport. Each township represents a separate government, organized under the laws of the State of Illinois. The townships are directed by elected township supervisors who serve as supervisors of general assistance and emergency assistance service for individuals. The services of the township are different from and not duplicative of the type of services provided by the city.